Courses

Popular Courses

Illinois Concealed Carry

Are you ready to exercise your 2nd Amendment Rights? our concealed carry course offers the 16 hour state requirements and so much more. We don’t stop with the minimum, we ensure that our students get all of the experience that we have to offer.

Concealed Carry Practical Applications – Beginner Level Force on Force

Do you train under stress? Do you practice reality-based scenarios with an active threat? Our CCW Practical Applications course puts the student in a reality-based critical incident where they have to make quick decisions and react to a potential threat under stress.

Course Descriptions

Illinois Concealed Carry - $125 / 16 Hrs. (minimum 6 students/maximum 12 students) – discounts available

Are you ready to exercise your 2nd Amendment Rights? In the state of Illinois, we are required to have a license to carry a concealed firearm. Our concealed carry course offers the 16 hour state requirements and so much more. We don’t stop with the minimum, we ensure that our students get all of the experience that we have to offer. Our curriculum covers proper planning inside and outside of the home, situational awareness, the importance of avoiding potential trouble, firearm safety, marksmanship and defensive shooting fundamentals, concealed carry law, the aftermath of a critical incident and more.

 

Requirements:

You must be at least 21 years old to apply for your license. There is no age requirement to take the course, but anyone under 18 must be accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class.

Please bring a photo ID, a modern handgun in good working order, 50 rounds of factory loaded ammo, ear and eye protection, comfortable clothing and closed toe shoes.

F.O.I.D. – You don’t need one to take this course, but you will need one to apply for your concealed carry license.

FIREARMS – You can bring your own or you can rent one from us. Contact us for details.

AMMUNITION – You will need 50 rounds of factory loaded ammo for the qualification portion of the course. You can bring your own or purchase some from the Tac Shack Pro-shop. No steel core, tracer, military surplus, or armor piercing rounds are permitted on our range.

Classroom materials will be provided to use for the duration of the class. Breakfast (doughnuts) and lunch (Jimmy John’s sandwiches and chips) snacks, coffee and water will be provided for both days. Please feel free to bring anything for special dietary needs.

One-on-One Instruction - $60 / Hr (Includes Range/Simulator Fees)

Description:

If you are looking for a more personal training experience, a private lesson is the way to go. One-on-One Instruction is available for any of the training we provide and can be tailored to fit your experience level.

Requirements:

Students must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Please bring a photo ID, a modern handgun in good working order, at least 100 rounds of factory loaded ammunition, ear and eye protection, and wear comfortable clothing (long pants, crew neck shirt, and a hat will help to protect against expended casings) and closed toe shoes.

FIREARMS: 

You can bring your own or you can rent one from us. Please contact us for details.

AMMUNITION:

Bring at least 100 rounds of factory loaded ammo or purchase some from the Tac Shack Pro-shop. No steel core, tracer, military surplus, or armor piercing rounds are permitted on our range.

Location: SAME

Refund Policy: SAME

Illinois Concealed Carry Renewal - $50 / 3 Hrs. (min 6 students/max 12 students)

Has it been 5 years already? It’s time to renew your concealed carry license. Our course covers the minimum 3 hour state requirement for renewal of your IL concealed carry license. There will be classroom discussion about the legal use of force, prohibited carry locations, and concealed carry law. Qualification will take place on our indoor range.

Requirements:

We recommend that you be prepared for the qualification. Practice before you show up to class and be able to demonstrate proper safety, gun handling/operation, and marksmanship.

Please bring a photo ID, a modern handgun in good working order, at least 30 rounds of factory loaded ammo, ear and eye protection, and wear comfortable clothing and closed toe shoes.

FIREARMS – You can bring your own (preferably the one you carry) or you can rent one from us. Please contact us for details.

AMMUNITION – You will need a minimum of 30 rounds of factory loaded ammo. You can bring your own or purchase some from the Tac Shack Pro-shop. No steel core, tracer, military surplus, or armor piercing rounds are permitted on our range.

Home Defense Planning and Application - $100 / 4 Hrs. (min 4 students/max 8 students)

Do you have a home defense plan? Does everyone in your household know the plan? Are you prepared for the aftermath of a home defense shooting? Our Home Defense course focuses on the necessary planning and proper application for defense against a violent home invasion. We will discuss the 5 fundamentals of home defense, the importance of having a plan, and the laws that protect you after you protect your family. This course also includes a live fire practical exercise.

Requirements:

Classroom materials will be provided. Please bring a photo ID, a modern handgun in working order, 50 rounds of factory loaded ammo, ear and eye protection, and wear comfortable clothing and closed toe shoes.

FIREARMS – You can bring your own handgun (preferably the one you use for home defense) or you can rent one from us. Contact us for details.

AMMUNITION – Bring at least 50 rounds of factory loaded ammo or purchase some from the Tac Shack Pro-shop. No steel core, tracer, military surplus, or armor piercing rounds are permitted on our range.

Improvised Weapons and Defense - $50 / 3 Hrs. (min 6/max 30)

As many of us know, there is a really long list of places where it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon. Are you prepared to defend yourself without one? Our Improvised Weapons course focuses on the practical use of readily available, less than lethal (in most cases), and legal to carry improvised defensive tools. We will discuss the legal use of force, less than lethal tools, and how to use everyday items for personal defense. There will also be some practical, hands-on exercises.

Requirements:

All students must be at least 18 years old or accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class. Please bring a photo ID, eye protection, and wear comfortable clothing and shoes.

Concealed Carry Practical Applications – Beginner Level Force on Force - $75 / 3 Hrs. (min 4 students/max 8 students)
Are you counting on your 16 hours of concealed carry classroom training to keep you safe? Do you train under stress? Do you practice reality-based scenarios with an active threat? Our CCW Practical Applications course puts the student in a reality-based critical incident where they have to make quick decisions and react to a potential threat under stress. You should be prepared to get your heart rate pumping and your body moving. We will conduct classroom discussion about concealed carry aspects, time in our simulator room, and live reality-based scenarios. An airsoft (CO2 driven) gun will be used by the students during the exercise. Students will NOT be engaged with anything but inert training tools.

Requirements:

Because this course focuses on concealed carry applications, you must have a concealed carry license or certificate of training. Please bring a photo ID, eye protection, and wear comfortable everyday clothing and shoes. If you carry off-body, please bring the gear you use to carry your concealed firearm (purse, handbag, fanny pack, backpack, etc.).

Hands-On Personal Defense / Women Only - $75 / 3 Hrs. (min 6 students/max 30 students) – discounts available

Statistically, women are more likely to be targeted by attackers. Even if you have a concealed carry permit, you may still need to disengage from a threat in order to access a weapon. Our Women’s Only Hands-On Personal Defense course focuses on situational awareness, mindset, and simple techniques designed for easy learning and use against the most common attacks toward women. We will discuss body posture, aggressive cues, defensive strikes and targeting. You will then participate in partner- oriented training where you will act as both attacker and defender.

Requirements:

All participants must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class. There will be physical activity involved. Please inform instructors of any injuries or physical limitations and we will help to adapt techniques to your capabilities. Please bring a photo ID and wear comfortable clothing and gym shoes.

Defensive Pistol Skills – Beginner - $85 each or $150 for both/ 3 Hrs. each (min 2/max 6)

If you are new to defensive handgun training, this course is for you. Our beginner defensive pistol course focuses on the fundamentals of marksmanship and the transition to efficient defensive shooting skills. There will be a brief classroom discussion about safety and training goals and range time with practical shooting drills that help develop the balance of speed and precision.

Requirements:

All participants must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class. All participants must be familiar with fundamental handgun safety, operation, and shooting. Any student that does not meet the minimum standards or have the proper gear may be asked to leave the class so as not to disrupt the training of the other students. The following is a list of required items for the class:

  • Photo ID
  • A modern handgun in good working order
  • A rigid OWB (outside waistband) holster
  • At least 3 double stack or 5 single stack magazines and magazine pouches/carriers
  • Minimum 200 rounds of factory loaded ammunition – No steel core, tracer, military surplus, or armor piercing rounds are permitted on our range.
  • Electronic hearing protection and clear eye protection

Please wear comfortable clothing and closed toe shoes.

Defensive Pistol Skills – Advanced - $85 each or $150 for both/ 3 Hrs. each (min 2/max 6)

Our advanced level defensive pistol course is a follow up to the beginner’s course. We will cover efficient defensive shooting skills, drawing from concealment, reloading and clearing malfunctions under stress, movement, and advanced shooting drills.

Requirements:

All participants must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class. All participants must be familiar with fundamental handgun safety, operation, and shooting. Any student that does not meet the minimum standards or have the proper gear may be asked to leave the class so as not to disrupt the training of the other students. All students must have completed our Defensive Pistol Skills Beginner course or the equivalent. The following is a list of required items for the class:

  • Photo ID
  • A modern handgun in good working order
  • A rigid OWB (outside waistband) or IWB (inside waistband) holster with good retention – collapsible holsters and belly bands are not allowed for this course for reasons of safety and speed/ease of re-holstering
  • At least 3 double stack or 5 single stack magazines and magazine pouches/carriers
  • Minimum 200 rounds of factory loaded ammunition – No steel core, tracer, military surplus, or armor piercing rounds are permitted on our range.
  • Electronic hearing protection and clear eye protection

Please wear comfortable clothing and closed toe shoes.

Handgun Fundamentals – Beginner (No Shooting) - $50 / 3 Hrs. (min 4/max 12)

Are you new to firearms? If you are thinking of purchasing a handgun and you don’t know how to use one, this is the course for you. This course is also great for younger family members. Our beginner’s course focuses on gun safety, handgun functions and operation, proper handling, loading and unloading, and storage options. There will be classroom discussion and practical hands-on exercises. This is NOT a shooting course, it is for beginner handgun familiarization.

Requirements:

Students must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class. All classroom materials will be provided.

Handgun Fundamentals – Beginner Shooting - $50 / 2 Hrs. (min 3/max 6)

Are you new to shooting? If you have never shot a gun before or you still have a bit of learning ahead of you, this course will get you on the right path. Our beginner’s shooting course focuses on marksmanship, sight alignment/sight picture, proper grip and stance, and trigger press. This course takes place in the classroom, in the simulator room, and on the range.

Requirements:

Students must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class. You must have completed our Handgun Fundamentals Beginner course or the equivalent. You must be able to display proper firearm safety and operation. Please bring a photo ID, a modern handgun in good working order, at least 100 rounds of factory loaded ammunition, ear and eye protection, and wear comfortable clothing (long pants, crew neck shirt, and a hat will help to protect against expended casings) and closed toe shoes.

FIREARMS: You can bring your own or you can rent one from us. Please contact us for details.

AMMUNITION: Bring at least 100 rounds of factory loaded ammo or purchase some from the Tac Shack Pro-shop. No steel core, tracer, military surplus, or armor piercing rounds are permitted on our range.

Defensive Knife Tactics – Beginner/Advanced - $75 each or $125 for both / 3 Hrs. each (min 6/max 30)

Do you carry a knife for defense? Do you know how to use it for more than just opening boxes? Our Defensive Knife course covers knife selections, carry options, deployment techniques and defensive responses. We will discuss the legal use of force and how it pertains to using a knife for self-defense, stopping power of a knife, defensive targeting and practical applications. Afterward, you will participate in partner-oriented training where you will act as both attacker and defender.

Requirements: 

Because of the nature of the content, participants must be at least 18 years old unless accompanied by a parent or guardian who is also enrolled in the class. Please bring a photo ID, eye protection, and wear comfortable everyday clothing and shoes. Training knives will be provided, but you are welcome to bring your own.

* Courses with Discounts - Discount Information

IL Concealed Carry $100 for veterans and $110 each for 2 ticket purchase (bring a friend discount)

Hands on Self Defense $65 each for 2 ticket purchase (bring a friend discount)

Course Location

Our classroom and range are located inside the Tac Shack Shooting Range and Pro-shop.

Tac Shack

8919 N University

Peoria, IL 61615

Please use the parking lot on the NORTH side of the building (behind the Tac Shack) and enter through the door by the flagpole.

Refund Policy

We do not offer refunds. For a fee, we will allow your ticket/seat to be transferred to a future class date as long as there is room available.

Contact Us

Do you have additional questions or need help choosing a course?

Contact our experienced instructors today!

12 + 11 =